Changes

Jump to navigation Jump to search
414 bytes added ,  16:43, 6 February 2015
Line 66: Line 66:  
* December 11th 1901- Fire destroys "Old Main"
 
* December 11th 1901- Fire destroys "Old Main"
 
* Within two years, Old Main was replaced by several new buildings which (after substantial renovations within the last 30 years) remain the primary structures for the classes, labs, and faculty offices. These include Kauke Hall (the iconic center of campus), Scovel, Severance (which together form a large courtyard in front of Kauke Hall), and Taylor Hall.[citation needed]
 
* Within two years, Old Main was replaced by several new buildings which (after substantial renovations within the last 30 years) remain the primary structures for the classes, labs, and faculty offices. These include Kauke Hall (the iconic center of campus), Scovel, Severance (which together form a large courtyard in front of Kauke Hall), and Taylor Hall.[citation needed]
 +
* In the 1920s, William Jennings Bryan, a prominent Presbyterian layman, attacked the college for its teaching of evolution, which had been championed by president Charles F. Wishart, and called for the General Assembly of the church to cut off funding to the college. But Wishart defeated Bryan for the position of Moderator of the General Assembly, and the college continued to teach evolution.[citation needed]
    
==Newspaper articles==
 
==Newspaper articles==
899

edits

Navigation menu