Historical Document's of Archer House
- Annual Business Review of Wayne County (1887)
- 1887 - A.M. Parrish, Proprietor
This building was erected in 1881 by Mr. E.B. and Mrs. L. Connoly, wife of the present proprietor, who took possession in 1883. This site has been occupied for hotel purposes for 50 years, the last house having been known as the Washington. As far back as 1828 all the principal elections were held here, and it was the stopping place for the stage coaches previous to the building of the railroads. The present structure is one of the finest hotel buildings in this section of the state, with all modern improvements. The house contains 35 finely furnished sleeping apartments, in addition to parlors, reception rooms, dining room and writing room. The culinary department is under the supervision of an accomplished cook, everything is first-class, and its rates are held at the popular and reasonable rate of $2.00 per day. Mr. A.M. Parrish, the proprietor, is widely known to the traveling public, and has had much experience in this department.